Quirky Quiz: Passers who threw a Pick-6 in their debut

It was widely reported after Sam Darnold’s first pass was intercepted and returned for a touchdown Monday night that Jameis Winston (2015, Buccaneers) and Brett Favre (1991, Falcons) were the only other players since 1991 whose first passes were pick-sixed.Β  But do you know the answers to these questions about

Mother’s Day all-time NFL team

It is not a team that is the most talented, but one that only a mother can love. We pay tribute to mom with this appropriately selected team. Just put your phone down during brunch and read this later, please. Head coach: Shorty Barr Offense Defense QB Bubby Brister DE Mike Mamula RB Madre Hill DT Milford Hodge RB Rashaan Shehee DT Ma'ake Kemoeatu WR Edwin Lovelady DE Milford

The all-pro tax day football team

It has been said that few things are inevitable, like death and taxes. It is also inevitable that Quirky Research will use any day on the calendar to draft a thematic all-pro team. No deductions for poor puns, and H.R. might block our passwords, as we audit the rosters and

Last undefeated teams in college basketball

This season was the first time there were no undefeated schools on New Year's Day, when Arizona State, TCU, and Villanova all lost. Here are the latest exits from the undefeated ranks back to 1946 (the season shown reflects the year of the championship tournament). Season Team First loss Record before loss Lost to (tournament game) Final Record NCAAT outcome 2018 Arizona St. DecΒ 30 12-0 at

All-time NFL Valentine’s Day game lineups

Quirky Research has scoured the annals of NFL history to assemble the top players for a Valentine's Day head-to-head. Today's referee is John Hussey. πŸ’•Β Virginia Lovers starting lineup Head coach: Lovie Smith Offense Defense QB Jim Hart LDE Leo Sugar RB Eddie Lacy RDE Rosey Grier RB Warren Loving DT Vincent Valentine WR Louis Lipps DT Romeo Bandison WR Edwin Lovelady LLB Mike Weddington TE Johnny Huggins MLB NaVorro Bowman LT Harper Card RLB Marquis Flowers LG Bubba Paris CB Dick LeBeau C Hunk Anderson CB Valentino Blake RG Duval Love FS Tommy Casanova RT Candy

Double Overtimes and the NFL Playoff Overtime Rules

Differences between NFL regular season and postseason playoff rules: Regular Season Postseason Number of periods 1 unlimited Length of periods 10 minutes 15 minutes Timeouts per team 2 3 per 2-period "half" Timing rules 4th quarter 1st quarter for 1st overtime, etc. If the 1st overtime ends with the teams still tied ... The game ends in a tie. 2-minute break, switch sides of field typical of

NFL teams that never kicked off

In the 1986 NFC Championship game, the Giants won the coin toss and chose to play the first quarter with the 15-30 mph winds at their backs instead of receiving the opening kickoff.Β  The Redskins failed to make a first down on their first two drives, neither punt made it

NFC tiebreakers entering Week 17

The following charts seek to answer the following question: If these two (or more) teams finish with the same record, who wins the tiebreaker? Notes and assumptions: No possibility of future tie games. Tiebreaker winners are as they would be if the teams were tied at the end of the season,